My Last Google Interview : (also how a brother should support you :)

I’m just going to share this in the order it was written and received.  I really like Google, and all of the people I’ve interacted throughout that process.  But this is why you have a brother.

This was my 4th interview with Google.  Every time I interviewed, I was told everybody loved you, and we’re going to hire you.   Then, I’d get a final email, “we passed”. That’s cool, and Google is famous for false negatives. It happens.  I’m pretty good at what I do, and I’d like to think I’m personable.  Doesn’t really matter for this post.  Enjoy the email thread I had with HR after interviewing with a junior googler…

Subject: An update from Google

 

Hi Patrick,

Thank you so much for interviewing with us and sharing more about your background and experience. The hiring team has decided not to move forward with your candidacy for the Developer Advocacy Manager, Cloud – San Francisco, Mountain View, Seattle and New York role. If we come across another opening that we think could interest you and may be a good match for your skills and experience, a member of our recruiting team may contact you.

We appreciate the time that you’ve spent with us and wish you the best in your search. Please don’t hesitate to reach out to me if you have questions.

(signer removed)


My response


 

Thank you for the prompt and direct feedback about the interview.   This doesn’t surprise me at all given the weakness of the interviewee, which is too bad.  Having served three separate tours in Visual Studio, designing, architecting and delivering solutions to developers successfully because of my fondness for the community, and of course holding over a dozen patents across various areas that have impacted the development community significantly (including Web Services, .NET and modern DI architectures), as well as having the opportunity to serve on several executive developer evangelist teams at Microsoft, directly supporting Bill Gate’s initiatives, my qualifications exceed those required to fill the role for which I was interviewing.

And within that vein, I do recommend that your interviewees actually read the resumes of candidates with which they are speaking.  They could thusly avoid sophomoric questions such as “Have you ever had to rally a developer audience around a particular technology and if so how did you do it?”  It’s difficult at these junctures to not express sentiments such as “son, had you read my resume, you’d realize that those technologies for which you are now an advocate were born out of original thinking and efforts I have already laid ground for.” 

And while I realize Google has a lot of false negatives in their hiring process, this is, I think the 4th or 5th time.  I see this as unfortunate since I know my skills would complement Google well; and I’ve enjoyed every interaction I’ve had with Google employees during each of these engagements.

Since, though, I’ve *never* pursued Google as a place of employment, and that Google keeps reaching out to me,  in the future let’s not waste time.  I regularly get contacted by your teams to join the Google effort, only to hear (this time being an exception) that “you are amazingly great and everybody loved you” (check your records), “but we’re going to pass”.

I pass as well, with a heavy heart, but with little unhappiness.  And that’s because the world is a complex place, I understand well the process end to end, and it just doesn’t always work.  But while going through it, I never cringed; and I give that credit to your HR teams.

I appreciate everyone’s effort for this last round, but I do beg of you to stop contacting me about roles that I might fit, as apparently I don’t.

Humbly,


The best part of all though, was I forwarded this to my brother who decided to jump in.  It’s great to have great brothers! (and a sister!)


My brother’s response to HR


I’m the brother of the guy your company just turned down.  And that’s seriously ok, because he and I have both been in the hiring position many times in the past.  And I’m definitely not looking for a position with Google; I’ve made my mark in the tech industry.  I was the one who created the first version of Web Services for Microsoft and worked on Bill Gates’ prototypes alongside my brother.  But you guys DO realize you just turned down the guy who connected the first web page to a database, right? 

I have no interest in trying to get a job with you – already stated.  But to reiterate what Patrick is saying, the process looks like it’s broken.  Frequently what we see in situations like this is, the interviewer gets intimidated by the interviewed.  And no harm, no foul intended by my follow up email here, but I just couldn’t resist because I, as a tech executive would also want to know if a process looked like it was broken.  Clearly this is one of those situations.

But just as I wouldn’t take it on the merit of an email, I invite you to seriously look at the credentials of someone who probably has more technical credentials, patents, and inventions than anyone you know.  The appropriate response should have likely been “over qualified”.  But just in case that’s not the case, please remove MY name from any future considerations as well.  You see, both my brother and me worked for Bill Gates on many projects personally in the past as well as ground breaking, life changing technology.  We’d seriously hate to sully our reputations working on sub-par teams with people such as the interviewer in this case.

PLEASE understand that I’m not sending this as a rude email.  My intentions are quite the opposite, in fact.  I just wanted to let you know that from my view either your interview process is broken, or I also would like to be permanently removed from going through something like this as well… because it appears that something nefarious is afoot and I wouldn’t want to be a part of that on any level, nor would I want to waste my time.

Thanks for reading…  Now I’m sure my brother is going to clobber me for sending this, but I just couldn’t resist.

 

Leave a Reply

